2023 Alumni Golf Tournament Supports Achievement Fellow Scholarships

By Ashleigh Wilson September 18, 2023

BYU Law alumni, supporters and friends gathered at Hobble Creek Golf Course the morning of August 18 for BYU Law’s annual tournament. 

From a field of 27 foursomes, the champion team from Parsons Behle & Latimer of Zack Winzeler, Brock Winzeler, Troy Iverson, and Jeff Sanchez finished the four-player scramble with a score of 20 under par.

In second place was the 2022 champions, the team from The Law Offices of Kurt A. Johnson: Kurt Johnson, Blake Johnson, John Sorenson, and Max Brenchley.

Special guests included Bruce Brockbank, Men's BYU Golf Coach, and Dean David H. Moore, newly appointed Dean of the Law School.

This fun event had a deeper purpose: to help fund scholarships for Achievement Fellows, students who have otherwise qualified to attend law school, while overcoming significant personal or environmental hardships including poverty, discrimination, health challenges, abuse, addiction, homelessness, and more. Read the incredible story of Paris Thomas, a current 3L and Achievement Fellow. To donate to BYU Law’s Achievement Fellows click here.

Thank you to our event sponsors:


1 800 Contacts

Bennett Tueller Johnson & Deere


Dixon Golf

Ken Garff

Todd & Erin Goodsell

Kirkland & Ellis

Kirton McConkie

Parsons Behle & Latimer

Raising Cane’s

Ray Quinney & Nebeker

Snell & Wilmer