Annual AALS Meeting

January 11, 2016

Several BYU Law faculty members participated in the 2016 annual meeting for the American Association of Law Schools (AALS), January 6-9 in New York City. This year’s theme was, “From Challenge to Innovation: American Legal Education in 2016.”

Faculty members Christine Hurt, RonNell Andersen Jones, Brett Scharffs, Gordon Smith, and Michalyn Steele serve on section boards. Professor Hurt is chair of the section on Securities Regulations; Professor Jones was elected to the executive committee of the Mass Communicatins Law sSection; Professor Scharffs is on the executive committee of the Human Rights Section; Professor Smith, chair-elect of the Trusts and Estates Section, was named new chair for the Transactional Law and Skills Section and was honored as an "Exemplary Mentor" by the Business Association Section; Professor Steele was named chair of the section on Indian Nations and Indigenous Peoples.

Professor Matthew Jennejohn spoke on "Transactional Lawyering and Contractual Innovation" in the section on Transactional Law and Skills. Professor RonNell Anderson Jones was the senior commenter on the "Legislation and Law of the Political Process" panel. Professor Hurt moderated a panel discussing "The Future of Securities Regulation: Innovation, Regulation, and Enforcement" in the section on Securities Regulation. Professor Aaron Nielson presented a work-in-progress, "New Voices in Administrative Law," during the section on Administrative Law. Dean James Rasband presented in the AALS workshop for Site Evaluators.