Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Research

November 14, 2018

As Gordon Smith, Glen L. Farr Professor of Law, assumed his role as dean of BYU Law on May 1, he announced that Professor David Moore will continue to serve as Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Research. Professor Moore was originally appointed to the position by former Dean James Rasband on January 1, 2016.

“Professor Moore is an outstanding scholar and admired teacher, who is tireless in his support of colleagues. He is deeply devoted to the mission of BYU Law, and I am grateful for his willingness to continue serving as an associate dean,” Dean Smith said.

After joining the BYU law faculty in 2008, Professor Moore taught as a visiting professor at the George Washington University Law School.  Before joining BYU, Professor Moore clerked for Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr. during the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2007 Term.  From 2003 to 2007, Professor Moore was an assistant and then associate professor at the University of Kentucky College of Law.  He arrived at the University of Kentucky after researching and teaching at the University of Chicago Law School as an Olin Fellow from 2001 to 2003. From 2000 to 2001, Professor Moore clerked for Judge Samuel A. Alito, Jr. on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.  From 1996 to 2000, he was an Honor Program trial attorney at the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Division, Federal Programs Branch.

Professor Moore is a scholar of U.S. foreign relations law, international law, international development, and international human rights.  His publications have been accepted for publication in the Harvard, Columbia, Virginia, and Northwestern Law Reviews, among others.  Professor Moore has taught Civil Procedure, International Law, U.S. Foreign Relations Law, International Human Rights, Legal Scholarship, and a Plenary Powers Colloquium.  As a teacher, he has been recognized with the University’s R. Wayne Hansen Teaching and Learning Fellowship, the BYU Law Alumni Association Teacher of the Year Award, and the Student Bar Association First Year Professor of the Year Award.