American Constitution Society


The BYU student chapter of the American Constitutional Society (ACS) is part of a national progressive organization composed of law students, lawyers, judges, and policymakers dedicated to the belief that law should be a force to improve the lives of all people. The BYU ACS student chapter sponsors events where constitutional experts from around the country can discuss current constitutional and legal issues and help shape the debate of these issues in the BYU law school community.To join the ACS at BYU simply email with your name and year. There are no membership dues to join the BYU student chapter. Students can also join the national ACS organization at


ACS is known for bringing engaging, thought-provoking, and entertaining speakers to campus. Our past speakers have included Emeritus General Authority Elder Alexander Morrison, John C. Brittain, General Counsel to the Lawyers’ Committee on Civil Rights, William Marshall, Deputy Assistant to President Clinton, Gregory Craig, Counsel to UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, and David Crane, Chief Prosecutor for the Special Court for Sierra Leone.


ACS believes that dialogue and discussion among students is an important part of our legal education. To that end, we sponsor “counterpoint” forums on current issues. Past counterpoint forums have included topics on the environment, privacy, national security, and international law.


ACS also sponsors socials where students can meet together outside of the law school. Our opening social will be held shortly after fall term begins, and we will have good food and great company. Come and join us!


Coming soon—please check later for updates on our schedule of speakers, activities, and counterpoints.


Casey McClellan


Kevin Auman

Vice President

Maddy Sharp

Event Co-Chair (Speakers)

Taylor Percival

Event Co-Chair (Speakers)

Ginnie Kim Pace

Event Chair (Non-Speaker Events)

Jacob Esplin

Event Chair (Food)

Ethan Fong

Diversity and Inclusion Chair

Brittney Graff

Social Media Chair

Lane Gibbons


Jenna Groesbeck

3L Representative

Amaris Leiataua

3L Representative

Braden Reese

2L Representative

Nicole Hosea

2L Representative

Tate Frodsham

2L Representative

Fred Gedicks

Faculty Advisor

Upcoming Events